List of Officers


Permanent Mission of India to UN


Post and Contact Details

Area of Work

Mr. Ajit Kumar

Ambassador and Permanent Representative of India to the United Nations Office and other International Organizations in Geneva

Tel: +41-22-731 28 54
Fax: +41-22-906 86 96


Dr.Virander Kumar Paul

Ambassador and Deputy Permanent Representative

Tel: 022- 738 46 30

  • Coordination of all work related to human rights, humanitarian affairs, humanitarian law, economic work and environmental issues, all specialized UN agencies
  • Administration
  • Chief Vigilance and Security Officer of the Mission
  • RTI-Appellate Authority



Post and Contact Details

Area of Work

Mr. Rajiv Sinha

Minister (TA) and Consul-General
Tel: 022- 906 86 86

- Consular matters, including aspects relating to Outsourcing
- Information, Culture and Commercial work (Geneva Canton)
- Inter-Parliamentary Union
- Universal Postal Union
- International Civil Defence Organisation (ICDO)
- International Telecommunication Union (ITU)

Mr. Anil Kumar Rai

Counsellor (Humanitarian Affairs) & Head of Chancery
+41 22 7329682 (Direct)
+41 22 9068686, Extn 213

  • Office for Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA)
  • United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR)
  • International Organization for Migration (IOM)
  • International Strategy for Disaster Reduction (ISDR)
  • Global Forum for Migration and Development (GFMD)
  • World Humanitarian Summit (WHS)
  • Sustainable Development
  • Human Rights Council - relating to humanitarian affairs
  • Environmental work: Climate Change, IPCC, World Water Forum
  • Multilateral environment agreements / conventions including
    (i) Ramsar Convention on Wetlands
    (ii) Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species (CITES)
    (iii) Montreal Protocol on substances depleting the ozone layer
    (iv) UN Framework Convention on Climate Change (UN-FCCC) & Kyoto Protocol
    (v) UN Convention on Biodiversity
    (vi)Chemicals and Hazardous Waste - Three Conventions [Basel (1989), Rotterdam (1998) and Stockholm (2001)]
  • All Chancery related matters as Head of Chancery

Mr. AlokRanjanJha

Counsellor (Political)
Tel: 022- 738 15 08

- General political work
- Work relating to Human Rights – HRC, OHCHR
- UPR, Special Procedures and mechanisms, Advisory Committee
- Assistance to Indian experts on Treaty bodies and other bodies,
- Right to Development
- Press and media
- RTI- Public Information Officer (PIO)

Dr. A. Sudhakara Reddy

Counsellor (Legal)
Tel: 022 - 731 32 24

- International Humanitarian Law
- Treaty bodies & India’s Reports to Treaty Bodies
- Human Rights Council (HRC)-related legal subjects
- Legal advice on matters referred by other Wings and/or divisions in the Mission

Dr.Sumit Seth

First Secretary (Economic Affairs)
Tel: +41-22-731 8658

- World Intellectual Property Organisation
- United Nations Conference on Trade and Development(UNCTAD), International Trade Centre
- World Summit on the Information Society (WSIS) & Internet Governance-related issues, including discussions on this topic in the ITU
- South Centre
- G-15
- Multilateral Economic Work
- Social Media & Digital Outreach

Dr. E. Vishnu Vardhan Reddy

First Secretary (Specialised Agencies & Human Rights)
Tel : +4122 9068686, Extn 251

- Human Rights Council (HRC)
- World Meteorological Organization (WMO)
-UN Compensation Commission (UNCC)

Mr. P.K. Prakash

First Secretary to PR(UN)
Tel: +4122 7312854
Fax: 4122 9068696

Ambassador's Office
Website management

Mr. Pushpendra Duchania

Second Secretary
Tel : +41 22 9068686, Extn. 219


Go to Navigation